MaXt0r
EMTA problem Arris TM722B (HSD +SIP)
AttachmentSize
Image icon 1.png19.5 KB
Image icon 2.png22.42 KB
Image icon 3.png21.46 KB
Image icon 4.png9.28 KB

Hi all,

I’m quite new with the DOCSIS technology. Maybe it’s a simple question, so don't think that I’m a fool ;)

We created a test setup with the following components:
1. Arris C4 CMTS
2. Arris WBM760B (High Speed Data) This part works
3. Arris TM722B (High Speed Data and VOICE) Only the High Speed Data works
4. Debian DHCP and TFTP server for provisioning

The problem is that we aren’t able to get the EMTA’s online for a TM722B modem. So everything works fine except the voice part. We only see DHCP requests from the CMAC’s, is this normal?

In the attechments you will find the config info:

Best regards

kwesibrunee
Looks like dhcpd setup is most of your problem

There are dhcp problems right off the bat

1. the cable modem must have option 122 with sub option 1 set optionally 2 as well this is most easily done in the subnet portion of the config like so

option docsis-mta.dhcp-server-1 192.168.0.1;

Option 122 is not built into dhcpd so you have to define it first in the global part of the config put:

# Map option 122 values for booting packetcable Devices
option space docsis-mta;
option docsis-mta.dhcp-server-1 code 1 = ip-address;
option docsis-mta.dhcp-server-2 code 2 = ip-address;
option docsis-mta.provision-server code 3 = { integer 8, string };
option docsis-mta.as-req-as-rep-1 code 4 = { integer 32, integer 32, integer 32 };
option docsis-mta.as-req-as-rep-2 code 5 = { integer 32, integer 32, integer 32 };
option docsis-mta.krb-realm-name code 6 = string;
option docsis-mta.tgs-util code 7 = integer 8;
option docsis-mta.timer code 8 = integer 8;
option docsis-mta.ticket-ctrl-mask code 9 = integer 16;
option docsis-mta-pkt code 122 = encapsulate docsis-mta;

2. The MTA needs option 122 as well but with sub options 3 and 6 set like so: