Docsis-Server-3.5 on Debian(ubuntu8.04) | docsis.org

You are here

Docsis-Server-3.5 on Debian(ubuntu8.04)

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
perse0
Docsis-Server-3.5 on Debian(ubuntu8.04)

hi,

Im new in this!!!, somebody can tell me the real procedure to install the server on Debian(ubuntu)..../?????

thanks in advance!!

Maki
This docsis-server 3.5 where

This docsis-server 3.5 where can I get it, is this new version of docsis_server home project and what are the changes thx .

perse0
there it is!

here is:

http://users.accesscomm.ca/docsis_server/docsis-server-current.tar.bz2

if u have info about setting up in debian or ubuntu, please show me the path!!

thanks in advance!!

vittoriob
One more step...

Hello,

I have the same problem. First I had the problem, not to be able to compile the package.
I started with
./configure

After this, you can see in the config.log, what was failed.
I had not gawk, gcclib6 etc. You can get them easily. I had after it the problem with the not installed MySQL 4 server. I got that from here:
http://www.howtoforge.com/mysql4.1-and-php4-on-debian-etch

After this, in the docsis_server-3.5 folder you can find the scripts_and_docs folder. There are some scripts, that you can run easily, and configure the MySQL database and tables. There is one error in the INSTALL....2_dhcp_tables. From the GRANT line remove the TABLE keyword. It does not need for this. Run this script first!!
Unfortunatelly, after this I have stucked. I can not step forward. I tried to start the /usr/local/sbin/docsis_server, but did not start. I also started as a daemon: start-stop-daemon --start --user docsis --exec /usr/local/sbin/docsis_server --make-pidfile --pid /var/run/docsis_server.pid

This is so far. If you could step forward, you may share it with me.

Thanks for your other hints!

BR,
Vittorio

dpecile
You already configured the

You already configured the docsis_server.conf ?
in the tmp directory you can see the error log of every process.