dch3416 cable box | docsis.org

You are here

dch3416 cable box

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
emkowale
dch3416 cable box

Hello all,

The Motorola dch3416 is a dual tuner DVR, digital set-top box and a DOCSIS cable modem. I am a SMATV operator. Does anybody have any idea where I would start to look for a way to program/provision this device? It's time the little guys used the big boys toys. This stuff can't be rocket science. Also, there is a cable card slot in the back for provisioning. I'm thinking of going all digital and this device can get me there. Any ideas and/or help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Eric

cmcaldas
Docsis cable modem?

I haven't work with those units, but did a search to double check. there's no mention of a cable modem and no ethernet port in the rear.

http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/Business/Products/TV%20Video%20
Distribution/Set-tops/QAM%20Set-tops/All%20Digital%20QAM%20
Set-tops/DCH3416/_Documents/Static%20Files/DCH3416_
User_Guide_537529-001-c.pdf

(I had to break down the link because it cut off. copy/paste for whole link)

Can you confirm?

~Carl

emkowale
MAC

Carl,

There is a mac address on it. Also, see this fourm: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r19615140-DCH-3416-network-connector

I'm more interested in getting DVR and digital programming to my analog subscribers.

Thanks,
Eric

kwesibrunee
You should look at using

You should look at using HITS Quicktake+ link here

They do all of the "talking to the digital boxes" to allow Digital services to work. The services we use with them require a motorola OM1000/OM2000 on our network and a VPN to them. they also integrate with our billing system too. (GLDS wincable).

Otherwise you would need a DAC which is rather expensive. Software licensing alone is upwards of 30K a year.

As far as the Cable modem inside goes, if the models you are using have one, they would be enabled with Motorola's conditional access (the service HITS Quicktake+ provides or via a DAC).

cmcaldas
Mac Add